Progress Is The Goal

I have been writing this blog in my head for the past few months. At first, I was beating myself up for not writing as much as I had been. But with progress being the goal, I must admit that I have made a lot of progress in other areas of my life. On December 23, 2014 I finally made moving back home to California a reality. Though it still feels like I’m just on an extended vacation, I snap out of it every Monday while I sit in traffic headed to work. Yes, in that 2 month time period, I received 3 job offers. Not to mention that during my first week of work my boss informed me he was signing me up for B-school with Marie Forleo.

My Scars Chat - SFSU

My Scars Chat – SFSU

And if relocating and starting a new job isn’t enough progress, I was also planning the first My Scars Chat of 2015. I was so honored this past Wednesday to be back on the campus of my Alma Mater, San Francisco State University, along with my undergraduate chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc and host a My Scars Chat with young women and men that were eager to learn and discuss the impact of domestic violence. And they showed their scars! They opened up and discussed some of their life experiences. They talked about the concerns they had for friends and I am confident that they left empowered and will continue to show their scars so that others know they can heal.

So no I have not been vacationing and over-indulging in free time but progressing forward. I have clients that I am also working with and bringing their brand messages to life through t-shirts. One thing is for certain I am content with where I am and I am going to find a way to celebrate myself very soon. I am learning not to be so hard on myself. Every seed that I plant is not going to blossom overnight but if I keep taking steps towards reaching my goals one day they will be achieved. “The man who moves a mountain begins by carrying away small stones.”

Erica Campbell Showing Her Scars

Erica Campbell Showing Her Scars

And then there is that moment when you receive a text from a friend of a picture that she saw on Instagram of one of your favorite gospel singers and half of Mary Mary, wearing a My Scars shirt. Then you’re told by your Sorority sister that Tina Campbell wore hers on the Mary Mary reality show and you catch the promo clip. It reinforced that fact that, I may not be “busy” (doing stuff just to pass the time) but I am definitely making progress. What goals have you set? What are you doing to achieve them? Are you making progress? Do you need an accountability partner? I’m listening!

I show my scars so that others know they can heal.” Someone needs to see your scars!

Have you liked the Showing Our Scars Facebook Page? We are “Showing Our Scars”!

https://www.facebook.com/ShowingOurScarsMovement

You can also order your “My Scars” Tee!

http://www.rnbranddesign.bigcartel.com

Find out more about the story behind “My Scars”

Sunday Mourning

Leave a Reply

