5 Tips to Assist You Through Your Transition

Transitions through metamorphisisI recently asked a question about transitioning and to my surprise most of the responses received were not action items.  The responses ranged from providing Bible scriptures to prayer and meditation which led me to believe that many of us do not know how to handle transition.  The question was: “How do you handle or navigate through periods/seasons of transition? What piece of advice would you give someone transitioning?”

The first response was actually a favorite scripture of mine: “And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.” Galatians 6:9.  While I love the verse and quote it often, someone that is going through a season of transition would likely ask as a rebuttal, “How do I not grow weary?” So instead of quoting the scripture, I would suggest that you remember your “Why?”  Seasons of transition are not meant to derail us but instead better align us with fulfilling our purpose.  I spend time reading old journals and notes that I may have written.  I often come across goals that I may have forgotten that I had but at that moment they help me understand the place that I am in.  You would not be in a place of transition if you were not already prepared and equipped to handle it.

Which leads me to the next response: “Sit and grow.  It doesn’t feel good but it is for our good.”  Typically growth takes place during the season before transition occurs.  I agree that it doesn’t feel good.  I often refer to the burdens and aches of that season as growing pains.  However, periods of transition are not seasons of growth but however application.  So having a clear understanding of the lessons you have learned in each season and how to apply it during your transition is imperative.

If you don’t know how to apply what you have learned during your season of growth the next response is for you.  “Trust God!! Let your prayer be Lord I do not know what you are doing, or how you are going to do it but I am going to trust you.  Easier said than done but it’s real we definitely have to put all our trust in God while he transitions us to the next chapter of our lives. Often times it is a very scary process and a lonely road.” Trust is key during seasons of transition, trust in God and our instinct.  That still small voice will give us the instructions that we need as we are transitioning but we have to be able to trust it and ourselves to move forward.  It can definitely be lonely because sometimes transition will put us on a journey all by ourselves.  But being alone will also limit the amount of voices you are hearing and listening to allowing you to be clear and sure of God’s voice.

Now the next response probably should have been at the top of the list but I am rolling them out in the order they were given. “For me, during periods/season of transition I have learned to be still and listen so that I can quiet the noise in my brain and around so I can truly connect with the Most High. Often times we pray and ask so much of our heavenly father when the answer is right in front of us. It is equally important for me to meditate each and every morning for 20 minutes.”  While prayer allows us to communicate with God, meditation requires that we listen to God.  Set aside some time during your day to meditate; create an area or space in your home that is just for you that you.

Lastly, the final response that came in was, “Run!!!! Lol! Just kidding.  Stand and be careful of your alliances“.  You have to understand that when you have entered a season of transition everyone can’t go with you.  Some will walk away on their own, others will attempt to stick around for the wrong reasons and others you will have to send on their way.  Don’t try to hold on to those that are letting go and let go of those who are holding on for the wrong reasons.

You know it’s funny that I asked this question while I myself am experiencing a season of transition.  I realized that while writing that I already knew the answer to my own question.  Funny thing is I learned it all during my season of growth.  I am thankful for the grace that allows me to transition from season to season. What tips would you give to someone transitioning?

I show my scars so that others know they can heal.” Someone needs to see your scars!

Have you liked the Showing Our Scars Facebook Page? We are “Showing Our Scars”!

https://www.facebook.com/ShowingOurScarsMovement

You can also order your “My Scars” Tee!

http://www.rnbranddesign.bigcartel.com

Find out more about the story behind “My Scars”

Sunday Mourning

4 comments on “5 Tips to Assist You Through Your Transition

  1. Being connected to the right people makes a huge difference. Sometimes you have to let some people go or limit the interaction you have with others so they don’t hinder your transition. Seeking out those that have experiences similar to what you’re going through. Being aware of your own strength and power.

  2. You did well on tips on transition, and I agree that meditation is the way for it.
    (You might want to check this out:
    http://jadethemystic.com/2014/11/04/ways-to-meditation/)

    You spot on the mediation for transition. I really think of the butterfly in the picture.
    Simple as that.

    When it was the cocoon, no one really know what happen inside of it.
    Only the cocoon knows what happens inside.
    It is its own experience.

    It is like meditation that no one knows what happen when you are in meditation.
    Even you don’t know what “will” happen during meditation.
    It is the journey to unknown.

    and when it becomes butterfly, it is as if it can transcend its mind.

    Thank you for inspiring me with this post.

    Jade the Mystic

    • I love that Jade! Know one knows everything about all of experiences that make us who we are and what we ultimately become. Meditation definitely helps guide you on a unknown journey and brings clarity

Leave a Reply

