Goodbye October

This yeagoodbyer for me October represents an end of a chapter and the start of a new one.  I began preparing for October in June.  As a domestic violence advocate, my goal was to have a series of My Scars Chats panel discussions in different cities and states.  I planned and hosted two in CA, one in Sacramento and the other in Oakland.  I have so many more ahead being planned for the upcoming year.  I was invited to speak at UC Berkeley as well.  So the advocacy will not stop just because October is over.

October forced me to be clear about what I want and desire out of life.  I had to abandon my fears and forge forward.  I spent time reflecting over my life and the experiences that have led me to this point.  I was able to share with you some of my reflections through the #WhyILeft post.  Everything that I have gone through has a greater purpose than any of the pain that I endured.  The time spent reflecting gave me even a greater confidence in knowing that whatever comes my way I can make it.  Goals that I have had for years are being achieved and it is the best feeling ever.  I couldn’t have asked for a better way to spend my Ocotber.  I can’t wait to spend the next 30 days in November just giving thanks.

 

 

I show my scars so that others know they can heal.” Someone needs to see your scars!

Have you liked the Showing Our Scars Facebook Page? We are “Showing Our Scars”!

https://www.facebook.com/ShowingOurScarsMovement

You can also order your “My Scars” Tee!

http://www.rnbranddesign.bigcartel.com

Find out more about the story behind “My Scars”

Sunday Mourning

Leave a Reply

