What Happens In Vegas Shouldn’t Stay In Vegas

7 years ago, I arrived in Las Vegas, NV with a suitcase, my 3 oldest children and one on the way. I was broken, feeling hopeless and at the point of giving up. I was trying to move away from all of my emotional baggage but I soon discovered it had joined me on my journey. In those 7 years, I dealt with homelessness, being terminated from not one job but two, lights being turned off, losing my car and the list goes on. However, in the midst of all the pain, heartache, shame and loss, I found and established a relationship with God.

I didn’t realize when I boarded on that bus that I was embarking on not just a physical journey but a spiritual journey. I was away from everything and everyone that was familiar; it was just my children and I. I could no longer point the finger and make someone else responsible for the pain that I was experiencing. I can remember one day just crying out to God. I said “Lord show me my heart, show me those things that are causing me to continue to self-inflict pain”. Be careful what you ask for because you just might get it. God began to show me the condition of my heart. Not only did He show me the condition of my heart but He began to teach and show me His truths and through the teaching my heart began to heal.

I felt like a new creature. The weights were being lifted, my peace was being restored and I finally had joy within my heart. But I had no idea that God was preparing me for something greater than me. My story of transformation became Sunday Mourning which some of you may be familiar with but it didn’t stop there. I began signing each copy of Sunday Mourning with “I show my scars so that others know they can heal”. Each time I signed those words it was like an affirmation that God was going to do more with my pain than I ever could by holding on to it. Those words soon became a shirt and have connected me with so many men and women across the Country that are willing to allow God to use their scars to encourage and minister to someone else.

Today I can say, I’m leaving Las Vegas lighter than ever and no emotional baggage will be following me on this next leg. I’ve learned so much about myself, allowed God to heal the wounds that were threatening my life and purpose and now I’m freer than ever to “Show My Scars”. I am excited about what God has in store for me. You never know where God is going to have me “Showing My Scars”.

I show my scars so that others know they can heal.” Someone needs to see your scars!

Have you liked the Showing Our Scars Facebook Page? We are “Showing Our Scars”!

https://www.facebook.com/ShowingOurScarsMovement

You can also order your “My Scars” Tee!

http://www.christiantees.storenvy.com

Find out more about the story behind “My Scars”

Sunday Mourning

2 comments on “What Happens In Vegas Shouldn’t Stay In Vegas

Leave a Reply

