Gallery

2014 Essence Festival: An Empowered U, Empowers Me

I am still coming down from all the excitement of the 2014 Essence Festival in New Orleans, LA. I must admit that I didn’t have a game plan as to how I would tackle all the festivities. I left it all up to chance and I must say it paid off. My mornings were filled with working at the Colgate Total booth as a Brand Ambassador. I learned and shared so many health and wellness tips from the panelist. Take a peek at the #ColgateTotal hashtag for tips on maintaining your oral health as well as your physical health.

Body By Denise

One tip that I will never forget is that you should be walking at least 10,000 steps per day. I am sure that I got my steps in per day while in New Orleans but now that I am back home I will definitely be using a pedometer to track my steps. Exercising does not have to be boring, if you like to dance, dance and if you like riding a bike, ride a bike. The goal is to get active and stay active so you might as well do something that you enjoy.

My afternoons allowed me time to connect with some of my Sorors, fellow bloggers and friends that had traveled down to New Orleans. I attended some of the workshops and interviews that were taking place in the Convention Center. And as chance would allow it, I attended Sarah Jakes’ workshop. She shared with us her story and encouraged us to heal from whatever life may have dealt us. She ended her workshop with having each of us write a letter #DearLostMe. The letters were then placed in a basket and each person pulled a letter that was not their own as the exited. I was blessed to not only hear Sarah Jakes but I also able to take a picture with her and share with her the My Scars Movement and a tee. I hope she continues to show her scars.

20140710-141604.jpg

Sarah Jakes Essence Festival

I will definitely be attending the Essence Festival again.  This years theme of empowering was definitely achieved.  However, I was most empowered while I was in New Orleans when I received a call from my mother who traveled from California to Nevada to watch my children.  She told me she was proud of me and that she didn’t know how I did it.  Up until this point of being a mother, every conversation that we had about motherhood always ended with, “Well I did it”.  She never understood that me being a single mother was drastically different from her being married with children.  Our conversations always left me feeling like I was not doing enough.  But this conversation brought me to tears, she finally realized what I already knew, I am doing a lot and managing it all.  To all the single mothers YOU ROCK and don’t let anyone make you feel like you don’t.

 

I show my scars so that others know they can heal.” Someone needs to see your scars!

Have you liked the Showing Our Scars Facebook Page? We are “Showing Our Scars”!

https://www.facebook.com/ShowingOurScarsMovement

You can also order your “My Scars” Tee!

http://www.christiantees.storenvy.com

Find out more about the story behind “My Scars”

Sunday Mourning

Disclaimer: I am a Colgate Blogger Ambassador and have been compensated for participating. All opinions expressed in this campaign are mine, and are not indicative of the brand(s) mentioned.

Leave a Reply

