Balance: Disconnecting To Reconnect

phone_off_hook_arsNote: This post is sponsored by MMG for the Colgate Total Campaign. All opinions are my own.

This past weekend I made an executive decision to disconnect.  I didn’t answer my phone all weekend and it felt so good.  I realized that after working a full time job Monday – Friday, I need time to unwind, reflect, replenish and just relax.  I had gotten so accustomed to just being available that I was not available to myself, my children or projects.  It definitely had an impact on my focus.  Well disconnecting definitely won’t be a one time thing, I am taking back the reigns over my weekends. I am going to make it a point to set out some time to just be.

Allowing myself to disconnect, I was able to reconnect with those that matter most, my children and I found myself having more energy when Monday came around.  How do you disconnect to reconnect?  Do you disconnect from social media?  Do you go on an outdoor adventure?

Here are 3 ways that you can disconnect:

-Plan a road trip: Easter weekend, my children and I hit the road and drove from NV to CA to spend time with family.  Not only did we have some quality family time but I was able to relax.  My sister was on kitchen duty the entire weekend.

-Sign out of social media: Social media has a way of pulling you in and never letting you go.  You end up vicariously living through the lives of those you are connected to and forget that you can too can make those same memories in your own special way.  If signing out is not enough, delete the apps from your phone or tablets.  You can also schedule post if you must.  I like using Hootsuite and now Facebook pages also allow for scheduling.

-Leave a message at the tone:  I chose not to answer the phone.  I didn’t record a special message or anything but I made myself unavailable.  I also noticed that since I intentionally was not answering my phone, I didn’t feel the need to have it within arm’s distance.

With Mother’s Day approaching, it would be great to take some time out and disconnect.  Enjoy your children and families there will be plenty of time to turn the noise up that surrounds us daily.   Health and wellness is a lifestyle.  What are you going to do differently?

2 comments on “Balance: Disconnecting To Reconnect

  1. I really needed this. Thank you so much for sharing this with me. I am at a point in my life where I need to disconnect from a few things in order to complete a few projects and to hear God clearly. Thank you for blessing me with this post. Take care.

Leave a Reply

