[SPONSORED] BEDSIDER.ORG: Does Birth Control Lead To Sex?

Note: This post is sponsored by Bedsider. All opinions are my own.

Does birth control lead to sex?  I think my mom would say yes.  Birth control was that taboo topic in my household growing up.  In fact, it was never discussed; no birds and no bees.  I think my mother felt that if she mentioned sex or even birth control then some kind of way she was encouraging it.  I think it made me even more curious and less informed.

And then came high school…Catholic high school.  Unless I just never paid attention, I don’t recall birth control being discussed at all.  There was this underlying message that we didn’t need birth control or to even discuss it because we weren’t having sex.  However, I do remember quite a few babies being born.

My unplanned family began growing immediately after college.  I soon learned what wasn’t birth control and what was.  Let’s just say that the rhythm method and breastfeeding should never be considered forms of birth control.  I breastfed all of my children but I remember oh so well, when I found out I was pregnant with my son.  I had come down with what I thought was the stomach flu and I was concerned I would not be able to breastfeed my daughter until I got better.  Well the stomach flu doesn’t last 9 months, I was in fact pregnant.

Birth control doesn’t lead to more sex.  It leads to a greater sense of responsibility and allows for planning.  With tools and information from organizations like Bedsider available, making the decision about what type of birth control is best for you is now easier.  I also feel more informed and prepared to have the conversation with my children when the time comes.  Though it may be awkward at first, I know that it is necessary.

What are your thoughts on birth control?  Abstinence? Are you having this discussion with your teens and young adults?  If you do not know how to approach this topic, I encourage you to visit Bedsider.

Bedsider

About Bedsider:

Bedsider.org (Bedsider) is an online birth control support network for women 18-29 operated by The National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, a private non-profit organization. Bedsider is not funded by pharmaceutical companies. Or the government. Bedsider is totally independent and the info on it is honest and unbiased.  Fact: Seven in 10 pregnancies among unmarried women 18-29 are described by women themselves as unplanned.

Leave a Reply

