Happy Thanksgiving: A Moment To Reflect

English: Oven roasted turkey, common fare for ...

English: Oven roasted turkey, common fare for Christmas and Thanksgiving celebrations. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve been taking this time to reflect on my 2013. I was actually going to make this a facebook status but I soon realized I had too much to reflect on and be thankful for so I decided to turn it into a post.  I like to get still and quiet in order to refocus. This year started off very rough for me. I had no income for the first 3 months (other than my shirts). I lost a dear friend at the end of January; she went to sleep and never woke up. I didn’t know how I was going to continue to live here in Las Vegas. In the 6 years we had known each other she had become a sister to me and like an aunt to my children. The week she passed, she had watched my children in order for me to go on an interview. I was facing eviction and didn’t get the job.

In February, I spent that month assisting my friend’s daughter with getting custody of her younger siblings. At 25 years of age, she had to take on the responsibility of raising her siblings.  I made sure that I was with her through it all in spite of everything I was going through.  I knew that if it were my children facing such a harsh reality, my friend would have done the same thing for them.

By March I was ready to throw in the towel. I remember sitting on the edge of my bed and hearing God say “Don’t Quit”. I tried to ignore it but it just kept getting louder so I decided to write a blog. Within 72 hours, everything changed. I received one of my first wholesale orders of over 100 shirts and overnight the My Scars tees were available in 3 States and 5 boutiques. I traveled to GA for the first time. And that job that had turned me down in January offered me the job in March. But the blessings didn’t stop there.

In August, I flew back to GA but this time I met and stayed with Le’Andria Johnson, an interview I waited 2 years to conduct finally happened face to face. So much has happened in 2013 but if I had quit when I wanted to I don’t know where I would be today.  I thank God for speaking to me in the midst of it all. I drove in to work today listening to Marvin Sapp I Made It Through and the tears began to flow. I made it. Through all heartache, disappointments and pain, I made it through.

The holidays can be rough at times but this Thanksgiving I have so much to be thankful for.  Take some time out to reflect.  And if you can’t think of anything to be thankful for, remember that if you are reading this you at least were able to wake up this morning.

I love you and have a Happy Thanksgiving.

“I show my scars so that others know they can heal.” Someone needs to see your scars!

Have you liked the Showing Our Scars Facebook Page? We are “Showing Our Scars”!

https://www.facebook.com/ShowingOurScarsMovement

You can also order your “My Scars” Tee!

www.rnbranddesign.bigcartel.com

Find out more about the story behind “My Scars”

Sunday Mourning

Leave a Reply

