Le’Andria Johnson and Vashawn Mitchell Perform In Easter Production At Faithful Central Bible Church

Le'Andria Johnson at Faithful Central Bible Church

I woke up early Easter Sunday Morning to attend service at Faithful Central Bible Church in Inglewood, CA under the leadership of Bishop Kenneth Ulmer.  I received news on Saturday morning that the Grammy award winner would be performing.  Without hesitation, I made the 200+ mile drive from Las Vegas, NV to Southern CA.  I must say that I was not disappointed one bit.  Then to find out that Vashawn Mitchell would also be performing, I was even more ecstatic.

I contacted my friend that lives in Inglewood and she said come on out and you can stay with me.  It just so happened that she has a friend that attends the church that was assisting with the production.  We were able to get some good center seats to watch the performance unfold.

Le’Andria Johnson and Vashawn Mitchell were actually cast in the Easter Production.  Everyone that participated wore clothing reflective of the Bible days.  Vashawn Mitchell opened dressed as a Shepherd, singing Nobody Greater.  If praise and worship hadn’t already set the atmosphere, it was set then.  With my hands lifted up, the tears began to fall.   While he was singing, the screens behind him displayed scenes of the crucifixion of Jesus taking place.  Bishop Ulmer then took the stage portraying Benjamin, the groundskeeper and incorporated his sermon into the narrative.  He talked how he had prepared the grounds but there was something different about this burial.  We then witnessed Jesus being carried and placed in the tomb and the stone being rolled in front.  The choir begins to sing Don’t Cry by Kirk Franklin as Mary, the mother of Jesus and Mary Magdalene cry in front of the tomb.

Bishop Ulmer returns to the stage as Benjamin and narrates how he had been mistaken for Jesus.  Then he went on to say when people see you is there enough God in you for them to mistake you and see the Son of God through you.  Can they see the resurrecting power of God through your own life.  And the tears turned on like faucets.  In that moment, it was as if I was overwhelmed by the love and grace that had been shown for me over 2000 years ago.  How my purpose, my life and everything up until now, would not be if my Lord and Savior had not hung, bled and died for me.  I couldn’t show my scars, inspire or even live in peace and the assurance that I have been forgiven and redeemed.

Happy EasterLe’Andria Johnson then takes center stage and begins singing When Sunday Comes by Daryl Coley.  They may have counted you out on Friday but “When Sunday Comes”!!! I must say this had to be on of the best Easter Sundays for me and I got to spend it with the loves of my life.  Happy Easter, I pray your’s was blessed as well.

Leave a Reply

