Don’t Quit (Pt. 2)

A week ago I wrote the first Don’t Quit post. Those very words had been playing over and over in my head. Usually when that happens, I have to do something with what I’m hearing or seeing or it will persist. So as I often do, I wrote about it. I wanted to hopefully inspire someone even though at the time I was feeling rather uninspired.

The month of January had taken me on an emotional roller coaster. I applied to countless jobs only to get one call back and an interview. A few days after that interview a dear friend of mine passed away unexpectedly. I began to doubt and second guess everything I was doing and even whether or not I should remain in Las Vegas, NV. I’ve gone through a lot in the 5 and a half years that I’ve been here.

After hiding under my covers for almost a week grieving, I was notified that I did not get the position. Which was probably best given my emotional state. The entire month of February, I assisted my dear friend’s 25 year-old daughter with going through the necessary process of gaining legal guardianship of her younger siblings. I also began planning my departure from Las Vegas.  Yes, I was prepared to throw in the towel and head back to California to be around my family.

The Queen Maker BoutiqueThe last week of February is when things began changing. I wrote the don’t quit post and immediately something shifted. I was contacted by two different individuals that were interested in purchasing “My Scars” tees in bulk. One being Domonique “Pastor D” Scott from TLC’s The Sisterhood and the other a friend in North Carolina. The simple words “Don’t Quit” took on a greater meaning in my life. I now had a reason to fight for everything that I’ve worked hard for in this past year.

And if that wasn’t enough, I received an email last week from the one job that I had interviewed with that had decided to go with another candidate. I was asked if I was still looking for a position. Of course my response was yes. We scheduled a time for me to go in to meet with them again. Well I am now the Creative Attaché for a National Business Development Company, delayed but not denied.

God knew that with everything that had transpired in January that I would not be able to take on a job at that time. But He also saw all my other needs and provided for each one of them, financially, physically and spiritually. You may not see a way out of your present situation. You may feel like every door and opportunity has been blocked but don’t quit. God is faithful and His timing is always perfect.

If you have been following my blog for a while, then you also know that my background is in Psychology. I did not go to school for Journalism, PR or anything relative to that field. I have just been using the gift(s) that God gave me. Last year, I was given a position with a local newspaper as a Staff Writer. Now, as a Creative Attaché, I will be utilizing those same gifts that I have worked hard to develop for the past few years to fulfill the job. And RN Brand Tees will be sold in 3 different States and will make their debut in the UK in two weeks!!! Your gifts will make room if you Don’t Quit!!!  Many of us quit just before the  point of a breakthrough but hold on and hold fast.

“I show my scars so that others know they can heal.”

Have you liked the Showing Our Scars Facebook Page? We are “Showing Our Scars”!

https://www.facebook.com/ShowingOurScarsMovement

You can also order your “My Scars” Tee!

www.rnbranddesign.bigcartel.com

Find out more about the story behind “My Scars”

Sunday Mourning

Leave a Reply

