Preachers’ Daughters: New Lifetime Reality Series

Preachers-DaughtersReality TV does not appear to be going away anytime soon.  However, the story lines and the cast are sure changing.  If the church community didn’t get their feathers ruffled enough with The Sisterhood, I wonder what the response will be to the new Lifetime series, Preachers’ Daughters.  The series is set to premiere March 12th.  Here is a brief description of what we can expect as viewers:

Teaching kids right from wrong may take a village…except when it takes a congregation! Lifetime will premiere its provocative new family docuseries “Preachers’ Daughters,” following the lives of three families for a behind-the-altar look at what happens at home after the sermon concludes, on Tuesday, March 12, at 10pm ET/PT. Produced by Thinkfactory Media (multiple Golden Globe® Award and Emmy®-nominated miniseries “Hatfields & McCoys” and family docusoap “Gene Simmons Family Jewels“), “Preachers’ Daughters” reveals a hard-hitting but often humorous look at the lives of these pastors’ daughters as they balance the temptations every teenager faces with their parents’ strict expectations and code of conduct as influenced by their faith. What happens will change these families forever, and surprise viewers with this unvarnished peek into their lives and the universal issues all households with teenagers face daily.

This particular series for me hits home.  At the age of 11, I became a preacher’s kid or a “PK”.  It was one of the hardest transitions in my life.  It changed everything at home and even public expectations changed.  I was always a well behaved child and your typical “daddy’s girl” but everything changed and even the relationship with my father changed.  So much time that used to be spent with our family was divided with the members of the church and not to mention my father was also the Chief Adjutant to the Bishop.  At some point, I rebelled.  I began doing everything that I knew I shouldn’t have been doing.  No one noticed because no one was around.

I definitely do not feel all “PKs” are “bad” but balance is definitely important.  Pastors spend so much time pouring into their congregation and giving to the ministry that their own families and children can be or feel neglected.  I hope “Preachers’ Daughters” is a true to life look into the life of a “PK” and not a glamorized Hollywood depiction.  I will definitely be watching and will give a review.

Have you liked the Showing Our Scars Facebook Page? We are “Showing Our Scars”!

https://www.facebook.com/ShowingOurScarsMovement

You can also order your “My Scars” Tee!

www.rnbranddesign.bigcartel.com

Find out more about the story behind “My Scars”

Sunday Mourning

4 comments on “Preachers’ Daughters: New Lifetime Reality Series

      • Oh, and my husband is a pastor as well, so when we do have children, there’s no telling.

        I’m remembering the contrived mess that was “seventh heaven” and how some details rang true, but most else seemed hollow. I hope this show can rise above that.

Leave a Reply

