Spoken Word: My Scars

Scar

Scar (Photo credit: Tattooed JJ)

Last night, I had the privilege of performing my very first spoken word piece. It was inspired by “I show my scars so that others know they can heal” and also the story in the Bible about the woman with the issue of blood. I was extremely nervous before I went up but I did it and I just might do it again. I wanted to share it with my readers.

My Scars

They say time heals all wounds

But I’ve waited 30 years

And now

My wounds are infected

Cross-contaminating with whatever and whoever they come in contact with

And now what started off as just an issue

is bleeding

Yes there is a leak in this old building

But my…soul feels like it can’t move

Shamed by my choices

Silenced by my transgressions

And all while trying to get to the hem

Who is them?

While traveling this journey all I could find was Him

Them will leave you

Them will forsake you

But them won’t heal you

I soon realized that I was hanging by my own hem

So if I push my way through

Or extend my hand for you to pull me in

pay no attention to the stains left by my past

because in my past was a future that couldn’t last

And if time had expired

My healing would have never transpired

Blood stain, blood clots

The only thing time brings is more pain

Arms raised as to surrender

I realized that with letting go I had more to gain

So I bled from my side the hurt brought on by my mother

And I bled from my heart the heart caused by my lover

But the hem is where I left the stain

And with my healing came a new name

And now my healing will bring glory to your name

I touched you

And you are real

Now I’m showing my scars

So that others know they can heal

Have you liked the Showing Our Scars Facebook Page? We are “Showing Our Scars”!

https://www.facebook.com/ShowingOurScarsMovement

You can also order your “My Scars” Tee!

www.rnbranddesign.bigcartel.com

Find out more about the story behind “My Scars”

Sunday Mourning

Leave a Reply

