Natural Hair: Why It Works For Me.

What works for you may not work for me and vice versa but that truth is what makes us all unique, free to explore and create our own new adventures.  My natural hair journey has been one of freedom, exploration and flexibility.  When I first became a mother, I don’t know if it was my hormones or what, but I decided to cut my hair off.  No I didn’t shave it bald, but I got it cut as short as possible without it being shaved.  The results were a nice asymmetrical bob.  I also had made the decision to stop using a relaxer.  I was a faithful to make sure my hair was pressed and flat ironed every two weeks.  I was fortunate to have a stylist that understood my hair, as well as the fact that it doesn’t take a lot of heat to get it straight.  At the time, that is what worked for me and my hair grew out healthy.  That was over 11 years ago, and some 5 children later.

Now, if you have had children, you also know that the body goes through a lot of hormonal changes.  Well my hair went through every change it could have possibly gone through.  It seemed like every time I let it grow out, I would get frustrated and once again chop it off.  The last time I chopped it off, I knew I wanted something different I just didn’t know what.  I ended up wearing my hair in protective styles, sew-in weaves, etc.  But what I thought was protective wasn’t so protective.  I experienced a lot of breakage and thinning of my hair.  So once again, I was back at the drawing board and ready to resort back to the scissors.

My sister, who has been natural her entire life, encouraged me to just do it.  And that’s exactly what I did.  So for the past 8 months, I have been completely natural and loving it.  I have no desire to even straighten my hair (I’m tender head so that makes that decision even easier).  I love how my 6 year old daughter has responded to the transition as well.  We rock our natural hair together.  I’m no natural hair nazi or guru, just a natural mom that finds it easier to balance mom life outside of the salon.  So when you see me rocking my natural hair or my “Curly Lox” tee, I am just walking out my journey that was designed for me.

What made you go natural?

3 comments on “Natural Hair: Why It Works For Me.

  1. Pingback: Protective Styles | Atlanta Ultimate Hairstyles | Unique Creations

  2. Pingback: Curly Hair | Stroller City

  3. Pingback: GaptoothDiva TV: My One Year Natural Hair Journey « GaptoothDiva

Leave a Reply

