Setting Goals: How I Accomplished My Goals

goal

goal (Photo credit: Sean MacEntee)

It has been a while since I added a new post to the RN Series but I hope you all have been drawing some inspiration from the previous post and been applying some of the steps.  As you can tell from my previous post, I like to incorporate my own experiences and show how applying the things that I write about have impacted my life.  I want to show you how to take something that may just appear to be theory and turn it into reality.

With everything that I have accomplished since starting this blog, I set a goal.  Initially, my goal was to just write a new post at least 2 to 3 times per week.  Establishing that one goal, I was able to develop a habit.  The habit that formed pushed me to write when I was tired, uninspired or just uninterested.  The one thing about blogging, you are your own boss, so if you do not set a goal or discipline yourself, it will become hard to stay focused and achieve the goal or vision that you were going after.  For the past two years, I stayed committed.  Now today, I can say that I am not only a blogger but a writer for a local newspaper.  The funny thing is, I wasn’t looking for the opportunity but the opportunity found me.  When you consistently work towards your goals, opportunities will find you.

Consistency is very important.  You may feel like you are not getting the results you desire but that doesn’t mean stop.  You might just have to find another way to go about achieving the desired outcome.  A few months ago, I had an epiphany.  I had written down my goal of selling 10,000 shirts.  I also had to revisit how I planned to do that.  When I began to review my strategy, I realized it didn’t match up or measure up to my expectation.  I didn’t give up; I made the necessary adjustments and kept going.  Nothing worth achieving is going to be easy, I can guarantee that it will be worth it.  You have to stick with it.

Adjusting can be difficult, I know I don’t like change, but sometimes it is necessary.  When you recognize the changes that need to be made begin researching or reaching out to people that can assist you with how to make that change.  You don’t want to just abandon your original goal but instead make adjustments to the path that was being taken to get there.  Sometimes a second opinion or more information can help you take the necessary steps to adjust and get back on track.  I knew my goal would take the help of more than one person, so I began to reach out to people and organizations that had similar visions and missions.  I recently partnered with the largest domestic violence shelters in Las Vegas, NV.

Partnering and building relationships are very important to achieving goals.  One of my definitions of success is taking nothing and making it something.  But one of my greatest successes was realizing that I couldn’t do it alone.  No one can do what you can do, the way you can do it.  Find a way to work together and build a relationship that can impact even more people.

What are some of your goals? And how do you plan on accomplishing them?

“Building relationships of accountability and trust with all roads leading to love.” ~ RATL

 

2 comments on “Setting Goals: How I Accomplished My Goals

Leave a Reply

