Day 12 – It Could Be Worse

Who would have thought that owning and operating a t-shirt line could be so difficult.  Dealing with back orders, making sure each size is in stock and then coordinating deliveries.  Well this past month or so has definitely been a rollercoaster to say the least.  As recent as Friday, I found out that my shirts were shipped to the wrong address and to add insult to injury when the driver went to retrieve them, the residents, who had called to have them returned, now have no idea what the driver is even talking about.   So what now?!?  But it could be worse.

Yesterday, I received a call letting me know that my classmate, good friend and someone who has always been like family, lost her son in a car accident.  The paper read that a 16 year-old boy had been hit head on by another car and the driver of the other car had fled the scene and the boy was found unconscious and later pronounced dead.  At first when I read, I thought for a second about my friend’s son but I knew he wasn’t 16.  Matter of fact, I remember like it was yesterday when he was born.  His birthday fell a day before mine and the last time I saw and spoke to him, we talked about staying focused, finishing high school and doing what he enjoyed doing.  He had even recentlly been in the newspaper for building custom cages for snakes.

My problems or issues became nonexistent.  I cried for hours yesterday because I can’t even imagine the pain that my friend is experiencing.

Happy Children Playing Kids

Happy Children Playing Kids (Photo credit: epSos.de)

I say all this to say, life is too short.  I could be upset about my shirts but I would rather be without them than without one of my children.  I am thankful for God’s hand of protection that has been placed around my family.  We never know what someone else may be experiencing or going through but when we just take to time to be thankful for the little things we realize that it could be worse.  So today, I am going to hug my children a little tighter, pray for them a little longer and let them know I love them ever more.

Today I am grateful for life.

Leave a Reply

