Creating For A Cause

Who would have thought…I prayed for provision and God has blessed me with far more than I could have imagined.  A lot of you have had the opportunity to witness it first hand.  If you are a new follower of my blog, twitter or even facebook, you are probably wondering why you are surrounded by shirts when you visit.  Well, two years ago, I started an organization and didn’t realize how hard it was to raise money.  So I had the idea to get my logo designed and put it on a shirt.  I hadn’t even had the site designed or anything but I followed the directions being given.  I wrote about Mother 2 Mother, what led me to start it and the programs and services that would be offered.  And once again, God amazed me.  The shirts began to sell and I was able to raise enough money for our first annual toy drive.  That year we donated toys to a local agency called Skills 4 Kids.

During that same year, I was very active on twitter and I met Lanita Wilks, not just a follower but I call her friend/sister.  We instantly connected and our friendship grew offline.  I remember a conversation we had and I told her one day I am going to design a tee to use as a fundraiser for her organization, Restoring The Heart, RTH Inc.  Well let me fast forward, I published my book, Sunday Mourning last summer and I began signing each book with, “I show my scars so that others know they can heal.”  And once again, last Christmas the books were used as the fundraiser for the toy drive for Mother 2 Mother.  We  not only were able to donate toys for children but we also had gifts for the Mothers.  Well at the start of this year, I slowed down with my writing and it seems like I was spending a lot more time meditating.  I was waiting and anticipating an answer from God.  I thought Lord you gave me this vision and surely it was larger than just a toy drive but you showed me the needs and a sense of urgency to fulfill them.  One scripture that always came to mind was, “Pure religion and undefiled before God and the Father is this, To visit the fatherless and widows in their affliction, and to keep himself unspotted from the world.” James 1-27  Well my meditations soon turned to dreams and I began dreaming in color.  God painted the picture to go with the very words I had been writing. 

“My Scars” tee was born.  And the promise I had made to Lanita had come to pass.  We joined forces and began to share.  Since its release, RN Brand & Design has been able to donate monthly to support RTH, Inc.  “The affiliate marketing for the “My Scars” tee has truly been a blessing to myself as well as the organization it supports through its fundraising efforts, Restoring the Heart, Inc. The tee has been a great way to serve as a conversation starter to share about the mission and vision of Mother 2 Mother as well as the mission and vision of RTH, Inc. With the proceeds that have been donated to RTH, Inc. we have been able to add that to other donated funds to purchase supplies for our teen girl workshops. It is the support of community organizations like Mother 2 Mother that make it possible for organizations like RTH, Inc. to give back to their community.

But we are not done.  This is only the beginning.  The “My Scars” tee is being released this week in purple.  We are taking a stand for domestic violence.  “1 is too many.”  Last week, I was able to meet with a local Domestic Violence Shelter here is Las Vegas, the largest one in the State of Nevada.  We discussed the tee being used as a fundraiser for them.  And I believe God is going to do the negotiating and forge a relationship between the two organizations to do great things in the State of Nevada for the community.

 

We need your help.  The purple heart “My Scars” tee is now available here.  Order your tees today and let’s show Safe Nest that we are behind the efforts 100%.  We will be meeting in the next couple of weeks and I want them to see just how serious we are.  This week, receive free shipping on your order when you use “1IS2MANY” at checkout.  Domestic violence is not just a local problem but a national epidemic.  Whether it be emotional, physical, verbal or any other form, it leaves a scar.  “I show my scars so that others know they can heal.”

Join me and let’s “show our scars”! Visit http://www.rnbranddesign.bigcartel.com today or click on the Shop tab.

4 comments on “Creating For A Cause

Leave a Reply

