A Conversation With My Father…

It’s been a little over three years since my father passed away but often times I find myself daydreaming about a much needed conversation. He was my best friend, protector, inspiration but most of all my Father. I still feel like I have so much to talk to him about and questions to ask. If I had one last chance to talk to him, it would probably go something like this:

Hi Daddy,

I should have known you knew exactly what you were talking about all these years. Thank you for all the advice, even when I still decided to do things my way. But oh did I learn and you never stopped loving me or judged me. There are still quite a few things left for me to learn, I just wish you were here to teach me.

Dad, how were you able to turn every moment possible into a learning experience? Putting together 2000+ pieces of a puzzle together, I learned patience and how to pay attention to detail. Let’s not forget how I learned my colors. While combing my hair you would let me pick out the barrettes and we would say the color of each together.

One more question, how did you remain so focused and dedicated? You never downplayed the responsibility you had been given and never spoke an ill word. You focused on the task and not the circumstances in which they were created. One last question, when life seems to be at a standstill how do you I keep going?

Well enough with all the questions. You’re in a place where there is no worry, just rejoicing. No sickness, heartache and pain, though you have taken your rest, your living was not in vain. Love you daddy!

Happy Father’s Day!

Leave a Reply

