The Breaking Process

“If I clean my room can I…I’ll wash the dishes…I just took out the garbage…now can I” I hear this quite often in my home when my children are trying to convince me that they need to go somewhere or get some thing that they just can’t live without. In an attempt to get there way, they do what they think will help them to plead there case. The problem is, chores, helping out and following rules are not bartering tools and when they are used as such they never get done until something is desired. Then as parents we have to say no more often than we were in order to get them back on track, the breaking process. Sometimes the “no’s” hurt us more than they hurt our children. I had to watch my son break down in tears because I refused to give in to his request, even after he had cleaned his room, took out the garbage, swept the floor, etc. But there was a greater opportunity for a lesson to be taught, at that moment we were both learning something. What I was able to teach him was more natural, but I learned something spiritual.

Sometimes we can become spiritual brats. As we grow in Christ, we can sometimes get accustomed to having our way. We start out with so much fire and zeal. Attending service regularly, paying our tithes, fasting and praying, I can remember how excited I was to be back in fellowship with God. Sometimes we forget that doing all those things is not what gets God’s attention but rather our faith. So then we find ourselves in a situation and we are saying, “Lord I fasted… I prayed…I gave my last in offering…I attend church regularly” And the Lord is saying but where is your faith. “And he saith unto them, Why are ye fearful, O ye of little faith? Then he arose, and rebuked the winds and the sea; and there was a great calm.” Matthew 8:26

Sometimes we as Christians have to also go through the breaking process. We have to get to that place where we know and believe that God can and will do just what he said he would do. So sometimes he has to say no, even after the fasting and praying. I can only imagine how it makes him feel when he has to deny his child in the midst of the trials and suffering. We can get so stuck in the routine and used to having our way but our attitude and heart are far from honoring and serving God. We have been broken to serve not because we are desiring anything but because we realize that if it had not been for the Lord who was on our side where would we be.

5 comments on “The Breaking Process

  1. Your point, “Sometimes we forget that doing all those things is not what gets God’s attention but rather our faith” is very well made in this blog Rachelle. I’ll enjoy reading more.

  2. Rachelle, beautiful post here. I am so glad we have cross paths today. Beautiful shirts. I must have the scars one. I myself is also getting ready to release some inspirational shirts to remind us of our walk with Christ. We are beautiful to God, if we can just see it through our darkest times.

    A Woman After God’s Own Heart ♥

  3. Pingback: Oh Ye the Little Children: An Ode to the Future « Crysti·ology

Leave a Reply

