On The Road To Destiny

“Im sorry did my back hurt you’re knife?”  A few nights ago, as I struggled to get to sleep, I continued to think about the life and ministry of Jesus.  I thought about what he might have been doing during the  years that led up to him ministering and preparing to meet his destiny.  We know he was the Son of a Carpenter, Joseph.  So I can imagine that he learned much about the trade from his father.  He had to learn how to measure the wood, cut the wood, drive the nails in it just right, etc.  All of these skills taught him patience, how to have a keen eye for detail, precision and endurance.  He was learning how deep He would have to cut through our flesh to be able to pierce our hearts with love.  He was mastering how to strike us at the right time in the right place for it to stick.

He also had to come to an understanding of all the wrongs, offenses, lies and mistakes we would make, in order to take them on for us.  But He also realized the struggle of living this life as we know it and with that understainding, He ministered from a place of compassion.

Humility, He learned it early.  In the first account of Jesus stepping on the scene to minister we read how He was baptized by John the Baptist.  He didn’t seek to draw attention from John or his ministry, what was important to Him was being baptized.  When you are not comfortable with who you are, you will allow people to tell you who you are and then assume a role you think they want you to play.  “But John forbad hm, saying, I have need to be baptized of thee, and comest thou to me?  And Jesus answering said unto him, Suffer it to be so now: for thus it becometh us to fulfill all righteousness.  Then he suffered him.”  Matthew 3:14-15

Prayer, Jesus stayed in constant prayer.  I have recently found myself writing out my prayers, when I can’t utter the words from my mouth.

Faith, Jesus believed and understood his purpose in life.  He was intentional in all that He did in order to see it manifest.

What would have happened if He abandoned all of his earlier preparation and learning?  So many want to walk in their destiny but skip out on the process to get there.  There are no shortcuts.  What you refuse to learn now, will impact you later.  We look on at the place or position that someone else is in and we want to take there place, but not go through their process.  Reminds me of a song, “smile in your face, all the time they want to take your place, the backstabbers.”  I really don’t think most of us have really met that “backstabber”.  We may have had a run in with a few backbitters, liars or users.  The reason I am convinced of this, is because Judas came at a time when Jesus was fully aware of who He was and who He was surrounded by, he knew exactly which role each would play in His destiny and He didn’t let them or their role phase Him.  How many of you could remove the knife out of you back with one hand and offer forgiveness with the other

I’m on the road to my destiny and I am enjoying my process.  Though he slay me, yet will I trust him.  Allow God to build your character, so that you don’t find yourself on the backside of the mountain you spent years trying to climb.

RATL”Building relationship of accountability and trust with all roads leading to love.”

Leave a Reply

