And I Will Always Love You…

Whitney Houston   -   Concert in Central Park ...

Whitney Houston - Concert in Central Park / Good Morning America 2009 (Photo credit: asterix611)

*Grabs my duster* It has been a while since I posted.  Well actually only a week, but it feels like an eternity.  The past couple of weeks my words have been colors and pictures, really making it hard to write.  But today, I have to find a way because there is so much on my heart. 

Yesterday, after hearing the news of Whitney Houston passing, my heart was so heavy.  I grew up listening to her music as a little girl, watching her movies as a teenager and learned of her struggles as an adult.  But what bothered me more and the first thoughts that crossed my mind were that she was a mother, daughter, friend and so much more to a lot of people.  Working in my field, these are the types of phone calls that greet you on a Monday morning to start off your week or close out your week on a Friday right before you plan to start your weekend.  There is a Whitney Houston that does not wake up every single day and hour. 

It could have been me.  Sometimes the cares of this Ole world can become hard to bare.  I am thankful that when I couldn’t carry the load, didn’t know where to turn or who to depend on, the Lord continued to extend his hand.  “The Lord hath appeared of old unto me, saying, Yea, I have loved thee with an everlasting love: therefore with lovingkindness have I drawn thee.” Jeremiah 31:3 KJV  He never gave up on me, never rub all the wrong I had done in my face but instead HE washed it all whiter than snow. 

We must learn how to love, become love and be love.  For some, we are the only point of contact for them to experience the love of God.  Another life has been lost, let this not be a life lost in vain.  We watched an icon struggle publically and the are some many others struggling behind closed doors all alone.  If no one else has told you, I LOVE YOU.  I don’t care what you are going through, what your past may look like but I will always love you.  “And above all things have intense and unfailing love for one another, for love covers a multitude of sins [forgives and disregards the offenses of others].” 1 Peter 4:8 AMP

“Building relationships of accountability and trust with all roads leading to LOVE.” RATL

Leave a Reply

