For the Next Three Years

Are you a runner? No, not a runner referring to exercise but someone who in the face of difficulty retreats. When life is chasing you down to teach you a lesson do you run? “But Jonah rose up to flee unto Tarshish from the presence of the Lord, and went down to Joppa; and he found a ship going to Tarshish: so he paid the fare thereof, and went down into it, to go with them unto Tarshish from the presence of the Lord. But the Lord sent out a great wind into the sea, and there was a mighty tempest in the sea, so that the ship was like to be broken.” (Jonah 1:3, 4 KJV) How long will you run?

I spent the earlier part of my young adult years running. When things didn’t go the way I wanted, I retreated. I never took the time to understand the choices that I was making or why I made them. All I knew is that I didn’t want to deal with the consequences. Because of my need to always run, it seemed like life constantly bounced me to and fro. Well it’s funny how things change.

I have been planted right where God wants me for the next three years. Almost two years ago when tragedy struck my home, it was the first time that I was not in a position to pack up and run. All I could do was surrender. My surrender released me to walk into my purpose. I must say that I have been walking by faith and not by sight ever since.

Trust and believe that there is no situation or circumstance that God has not seen and that he can’t deliver you from. Stop running from and run to the only One who can ease the load and lift the burden. He is waiting on you. “When my soul fainted within me I remembered the Lord: and my prayer came in unto thee, into thine holy temple.” (Jonah 2:7 KJV)

Leave a Reply

