Healing Through Writing…

“Healing through the written word happens when people learn about themselves and open themselves to the healing power within.”

Have you ever just poured your heart out, like literally wrote from that place of pain or vulnerability? Have you ever come across those words written and could remember when but couldn’t remember why? Did you feel as if the pain of yesterday had been left on the paper so you could breath today? Well, I seem to write from that place every time I pick up my pen and allow my heart to take over. Writing is my healing…words have the power to heal and I am Healing Through Writing.

This year, I was part of a writing challenge that WordPress conducted. I was challenged to write a post a week or choose to write a post per day. I chose the latter even though at times I shocked myself and wrote more. But I noticed that the challenge benefitted me in ways that I would have never imagined.

  1. I was able to share my Faith.
  2. My writing skills have improved.
  3. I was able to process some things that occured this year in a way that kept me grounded and focused.
  4. I was forced to look at the brighter side of things.
  5. I exceeded the number of page views and traffic that my blog had in the first year.
  6. Lastly, I have quite a few more regular readers.

So for 2012, I am starting my own challenge and would love for you to join in with me. It is the Healing Through Writing Challenge. “And they overcame him by the blood of the Lamb, and by the word of their testimony; and they loved not their lives unto the death.” (Revelation 12:11 KJV) I have quite a few followers that have come to me about writing books and also starting blogs, well here is your chance to start sharing your story and creating your platform.
This endeavor also goes right along with a new project that I will be starting in 2012, Healing Through Writing, RN series. I hope you will join me.

The challenge will be to post a blog per week. Also, find at least 5 blogs to visit regularly and leave comments on. You can also check out my blogroll for some of the blogs that I visit often. I guarantee this is going to be a rewarding experience. You may not feel comfortable with sharing what you have written, but share the experience and the process.

Please leave the link to your blog in the comments and when you tweet your links use #HealingThroughWriting. Someone is waiting on your words to help encourage, inspire and heal them. I show my scars so others know they too can heal.

“Someone has to survive the storm in order to tell someone else how to weather the storm…” ~ Rhachelle Nicol’

Leave a Reply

