Making Progress Through the Process…

So as some of you may know, I am always up for a challenge when it comes to my writing.  I push myself to the limit at times but I can definitely see the results.  It has kept me motivated, focused and disciplined.  So I have decided to take on the WNFIN Challenge (Write Non Fiction in November).    This challenge consist of non fiction authors completing an ebook, book proposal, booklet, etc.  Many of you have asked about my next book.  Well it is coming soon.  Though I may finish the writing, it will not be published until Spring 2012.  Which also gives those who have not yet read Sunday Mourning, a chance to catch up. 

After writing and self-publishing, Sunday Mourning, I knew I had a lot more in me to write, I just didn’t expect it to come so soon.  But I have recognized writing as being my process through which God allows me to reflect, heal, grow and reach others.  I write about the issues that most people allow to eat at them behind closed doors, suicide, emotional abuse, rejection, fear, etc.  Each word that I write, I feel a weight lifted and an area of weakness healed.   

The writing of Slaying My Goliath has begun.  I have actually completed a chapter and started on another.  Though I started this challenge a day late, I think I can still meet the deadline.  I have blogged openly about my journey over the past year.  I’ve had some ups and some downs but I have learned the lesson in some and realized I must dig deeper into others.  Slaying My Goliath deals with those areas in our lives that we struggle with that are bigger and in some cases stronger than us.  They try to take us down in one blow.  They come to distract us and keep us stagnant in growth.  Their goal is to keep us from getting to the next level in our purpose.

I am reminded of the story of David and Goliath.  We all know the story.  Goliath was a Philistine man of great stature and strength.  His size and strength wound up being no match for David.  David could have been easily distracted by Goliath’s size but David knew how great of a God he served.  I am conquering my Goliath because greater is he that is in me than he that is in the world. 

What are some of your Goliaths?  It’s time to take them down.

Leave a Reply

