Breathe On Me…

“And the Lord God formed man of the dust of the ground and breathed into his nostrils that breath of life; and man became a living soul.” Genesis 2:7

Over the past week, I have been thinking about and missing my father dearly.  Not just as my natural father, but also as my spiritual father.  He nurtured and directed me, long before I recognized what was in me.  He left room for me to error but also assisted with me discovering the lesson to be learned in my error.  He supported my dreams and he always told me I could do and become anything as long as I set my mind to it.  He breathed life in me when I was lifeless.  When I had messed up and given up, he told me to keep going.

Now I feel a void in my life, that has not been filled.  We often times speak of the “fatherless child” but in the spiritual sense this can’t be.  However, it is in fact the case.  Our communities are a reflection of the church.  We have a lot of leaders, but no one is willing to be a father.  No one willing to breathe life into the next man or woman for fear of being replaced.  A “true” leader births out other leaders as a “father” assist at bringing forth sons and daughters who will develop into fathers and mothers.   The church has far too many living bodies with dead souls…breathe on us Lord.

So I ask, where are the Abrahams, the fathers of many nations? Where are the Noahs, the fathers willing to build and protect their seed even when it doesn’t make sense?  Where are the Isaacs, the fathers faithful to offer up their best sacrifice.  And the Seths, the fathers that will bring forth men to call upon the name of the Lord. “And to Seth, to him also there was born a son; and he called his name Enos; then began men to call upon the name of the Lord.” Genesis 4:26

4 comments on “Breathe On Me…

  1. reminds of a conversation i have yet to have. but the beauty of having a father is a joy child needs to grow. i love this.

  2. I recently came across your article and have been reading along. I want to express my admiration of your writing skill and ability to make readers read from the beginning to the end. I would like to read newer posts and to share my thoughts with you.

Leave a Reply

