Let Patience Have Her Perfect Work

I’ve come too far to turn around, but what’s keeping me in the wilderness? We will all experience a wilderness period at one time or another. Some will turn back to old ways but some will embrace the experience and seek to learn what is being taught. “Teach me thy way, O Lord; I will walk in thy truth: unite my heart to fear thy name. Psalm 86:11

Last year God gave me (3) areas to study and understand, while he was freeing me from the bondage of my past: strongholds, surrendering and transparency. I had to realize that there were some things in my life that had a stronger hold on me than I had on them. I had to trust God enough to surrender them to him and believe that he would heal those areas that had been so deeply wounded. Transparency brought me to a place of complete trust and faith. My scars became proof of God’s faithfulness and bare my testimony.

There are (3) more areas I must learn while in the wilderness: faith, obedience and patience. My faith has been developed and has kept me seeking more truth and believing that He will never leave me nor forake me. “So that we may boldly say, The Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me.” Hebrews 13:6 Obedience has caused me to believe the vision that was given and continue working towards bringing it to fruition.

Now patience…

The other day my daughter came to me and said “mom I just want you to be happy, not irritated or frustrated.” Two days later, she came to me and said the same thing. I did not realize it until I began researching the wilderness experience, that she was speaking of having patience. I guess I wasn’t demonstrating patience. According to dictionary.com, patience is defined as the quality of being patient, as the bearing of provocation, annoyance, misfortune, or pain, without complaint, loss of temper, irritation, or the like; an ability or willingness to suppress restlessness or annoyance when confronted with delay. And all this time, I thought God wasn’t speaking to me but he used my daughter to give me a word.

Patience is a lot like a thermostat on an A/C unit; it regulates the temperature. The thermostat makes sure its not too hot or too cold. Patience regulates one’s character, causing one to respond consistently to whatever circumstances presented instead of reacting. Patience says God is preparing something better when we don’t get what we want. Patience says there must be more to learn rather than believing we know it all. Patience says, “though he slay me, yet will I trust him”. Patience assures that a firm foundation has been built and will allow things to be tore down in order to ensure the leaks and cracks have been sealed.

Character is developed as the result of a wilderness experience and patience is the best lesson.

“But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.” James 1:4

One comment on “Let Patience Have Her Perfect Work

  1. Pingback: 2 Reasons Why God Tests Us « Earthpages.org

Leave a Reply

