Death Row

Yesterday evening, we witnessed the death of a man, Troy Davis, that may or may not have been guilty of the crimes committed.  Today, though some continue to mention the issues that plague our legal system, most have gone back to their day to day.  As I thought about the issues at hand,  one thing struck me, so many people live their day to day lives on “Death Row“, awaiting their day of execution.

So many people wake up each morning with nothing to live for, no dreams to pursue and lack any ambition or motivation to change their circumstances.  Do we stand up and fight for them?  We have a system, which has developed an industry out of the heinous acts and crimes committed, that preys on the illiteracy of our youth and adults and consistently gives hand outs while never helping to lift up.   Our system does not provide rehabilitation, but a training ground to be a better thief, liar and criminal.

“How long will ye judge unjustly, and accept the person of the wicked? Selah.  Defend the poor and fatherless: do justice to the afflicted and needy.  Deliver the poor and needy: rid them out of the hand of the wicked.”  Psalm 82:3  I wake up everyday fighting for these individuals to have clemency and be granted a second chance at life.  I let them know that the decisions that were made by their mother or father do not have to be the same decisions they make for their own lives.  I tell those that are seeking change to forgive themselves of their past and start taking the necessary steps towards a brighter future.  

So many complain and desire to see change, but never put themselves in a position to influence the change they desire.   We have a system that sustains generational curses and deficiencies.  Now is the time for the “Church” to takes its rightful place.  It is a season of healing, a season that strongholds and generational curses will be broken.  Now is the time to walk in our power.  “And these signs shall follow them that believe; In my name shall they cast out devils; they shall speak with new tongues; They shall take up serpents; an if they drink any deadly thing, it shall not hurt them; they shall lay hands on the sick, and they shall recover.”  Mark 16:17-18

What can you do today, that will influence change tomorrow?!?

6 comments on “Death Row

  1. This was both inspiring and motivational, yet also convicting as it rightfully should be, for me anyway, thank you for this wake up. -watw

    • There is so much work to be done. If each person would be willing to lift up another and push them to do better some of these infrastructure would be brought to their knees and they would be begging for those providing the services to continue the work.

  2. Rhachelle,
    When I saw the title of this post I immediately thought “This is not the first time an innocent man died on death row.” Of course, with the thought of Christ… and my perspective changed. The anger that burned from perceived injustice subsided as I was HUMBLED. I already believe that you can’t use a broken system to fix to itself, but this revelation gave me a whole new perspective on the situation, and even while I’m not “ok” with the death of Troy Davis- I”ve come to a new place of understanding.

    • I didn’t see it or notice the problem until I was on the other side of things. I thank God for everything I have gone through over the past 18 months. I learned a lot but the most important thing was figuring out what needed to be done and how to go about doing it.

  3. Pingback: My Ex Song By Problem | M3 System Making Up Made Easy Review

Leave a Reply

