The Barren Womb

Speaking to women and mothers, I share my testimony as proof of God’s love and promise.  As a mother of 5, I will never understand the emotions of a mother who can not birth a child but I am familiar with being a mother who felt like I could not birth purpose.  “Sing, O barren, thou that didst not bear; break forth into singing, and cry aloud, thou that didst not travail with child: for more are the children of the desolate than the children of the married wife, saith the Lord.” Isaiah 54:1

According to the Merriam Webster dictionary,barrenness is defined in multiple ways: 1) not producing offspring; 2) lacking vegetation, especially useful vegetation. 3) unproductive of results or gains; unprofitable; 4) habitually failing to fruit; 5) lacking inspiration or ideas.  Barrenness in the Old Testament was considered to be a curse.  The Bible reference 7 women that were barren: Sarah, the mother of Isaac, Rebekah, the mother of Esau and Jacob, Rachel, the mother of Joseph and Benjamin, Samson’s mother, Hannah, Michal and Elizabeth.  Each one of these women, once God opened up their wombs, birthed purpose. 

God showed himself to be faithful regardless of the obstacle that presented itself.  He still used them even in their condition and circumstances.  One would say today, “Why is she so old or why did she wait so long to have a child?”  But to overcome an obstacle that seemed to be insurmountable for the testimony of his glory and his name, what a mighty God we serve.  Insurmountable is the problem of sin, guilt, shame, fear, worthlessness and hopelessness.  The voice that would attempt to tell us that we will never be anything.  But nothing is too hard for the God we serve.  

My womb was barren for ten years.  I gave up on every vision that God had given me.  Though I birthed my children, I could not hold on to the promises and the visions that God had given me. I walked in defeat, but when I gave it all over to God, he gave me the courage to continue on.  He gave me the vision and showed me the end.  I trust him to lead me and guide me in the direction to bring it all to pass.    

“Fear not; for thou shalt not be ashamed: neither be thou confounded; for thou shalt not be put to shame: for thou shalt forget the shame of thy youth, and shalt not remember the reproach of thy widowhood any more. For thy Maker is thine husband: the Lord of host is his name; and thy Redeemer the Holy One of Israel; The God of the whole earth shall he be called.  For the Lord hath called thee as a woman forsaken and grieved in spirit, and a wife of youth, when thou wast refuse, saith thy God.  For a small moment have I forsaken thee; but with great mercies will I gather thee.  Isaiah 54: 4-8

For the mothers that have lost hope on their dreams and aspirations, God will open up the womb and bring forth purpose in your life.  So many of us have relied on the report or opinion of others that we wouldn’t be anything.  But just like Elizabeth, God is going to cause the womb to leap and bring forth fruit to bring healing to a dying nation.

By Rhachelle Nicol' Posted in Faith

One comment on “The Barren Womb

  1. Every time you post I feel like God is giving us great secrets through you. I love this, I might even say it is my favorite one you’ve posted since I starting reading a few months ago, however, your writing is so anionted it is difficult to pick one for the best.-watw

Leave a Reply

