Day 22 – Scoot Over Please

I have been meditating on the parable about the woman with the issue of blood. Some thing(s) took place that resulted in her healing. She pressed her way, she made a sacrifice; she risked being rejected by others in the crowd. The scripture goes on to say, “For she said within herself, If I may but touch his garment, I shall be whole. Matthew 9:21 She thought it and believed it. She then made contact with his garment (a point of contact). My God…

Another scripture that comes to mind, “Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that believeth on me, the works that I do shall he do also; and greater works than these shall he do; because I go unto my father”. John 14:12 If this had happened today, what would have been the results? Greater works we shall do, but someone would have probably told her to scoot over. Imagine a man/woman coming into a church, that was trying to get off drugs, going through withdrawals and not freshly bathed . Having been to one drug treatment facility after the other, she could not break the habit. But she heard about a man who could save her from herself and break the habit. I can see some of the looks on folks faces, the comments made, whispering to your neighbor, “scoot over please”. For some we are the only point of contact, that place where an exchange occurs and the power of God transforms lives.

Luke 8:46 says, “But Jesus said, Someone did touch Me; for I perceived that [healing] power has gone forth from Me”. There was an exchange. The power of God moved on her and healed her from her issue. Who is willing to stand in the gap with that faith that moves mountains for the healing of a nation? The world needs a point of contact, a hem. I am standing in the gap praying for souls to be saved and lives to be changed. “Then Peter said, Silver and gold have I none; but such as I have give I thee: In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth rise up and walk.” Acts 3:6

One comment on “Day 22 – Scoot Over Please

Leave a Reply

