Day 19 – Say What You Mean and Mean What You Say

I know my 30 days worth of post and habit changing should probably be completed but some changes can not be transformed online. One thing that has progessed online is my writing and being more consistent at it. I am using day to day circumstances to draw inspiration and I am learning more about me in the process. The other day I posted on my Facebook status, “Watch out now or you might become the subject of one of my blogs.”

Well on tonight, my children will play the stars. I am not one that is big on fastfood and I really do not like pizza. I prepare a homecooked meal daily, no matter how long the day or how much I have to get done.

But after a day of work and forgetting to take something out of the freezer this morning, the easiest thing was to order some pizza. The kids came into the house and as I instructed began picking up things that had been left out, taking the garbage out, vaccuuming, etc., so I figured hey why not just order a couple of pizzas and call it a night. I called Dominos, ordered two pizzas and in my mind we were set. Well, I have been working on a few areas with my children and one is respecting others property or personal space. You do not go in my room unless instructed. No sooner than I hung up the phone, two of my children went into my bedroom. Without any hesitation, I stated I am cancelling the order for pizza, picked up the phone and cancelled out the order. My children should know by now, I don’t mind cooking. But a greater lesson had to be taught. “Train up a child in the way he should go and when he is old he will not depart from it.”

I proceeded to the kitchen, pulled the porked chops out of the freezer and began to thaw them out. 2011 is the year that I “Say What I Mean and Mean What I Say”. I am raising 4 young men and if they won’t respect me first as their mother, a women, provider, etc., then how can I expect them to respect another young lady. I may not be able to teach them how to be men, but I can definitely teach them how a woman deserves and needs to be treated. My oldest is only 9, so I have quite a few more years to worry about girls, but the training has already started and will continue.

2 comments on “Day 19 – Say What You Mean and Mean What You Say

Leave a Reply

