Day 12 – Nonverbal Cues

I love how my little ones communicate to me, even when they are not using their words; I get the message loud and clear. “Sargent don’t play in your food.” This is what I said during lunch today when he has lost interest in eating and clearly just wanted to lay down for his nap. We learn this type of communication in infancy and a lot of us still use it to communicate as adults.

For example, my siblings use to say that when I was going through something my contact always became less frequent; less phone calls, visiting, etc. So whenever either of them noticed, they would make sure to reach out to me. We have all heard that saying, “I built a wall not to keep people out, but to see who loved me enough to climb over”.

I can’t say it enough, there are so many people, unfortunately, that are hurting or have been hurt. Just like a baby cries when he/she is in pain until we figure out the location, some of us cry out but no one understands where the source of pain is coming from. When we allow ourselves to listen to the nonverbal cues first and not make judgment, we can actually begin to understand the area in a person’s life that needs attention. “The Lord hath appeared of old unto me, saying, Yea, I have loved thee with an everlasting love; therefore with lovingkindness have I drawn thee.” Jeremiah 31:3

My children’s father use to get so irritated when our second son would cry. My response was always, “Well you wanted to name him Jeremiah, and he was the weeping prophet”. But then I thought about it, he was grown and he liked to fuss, cuss and argue, what is the difference?

2 comments on “Day 12 – Nonverbal Cues

Leave a Reply

