A Lesson in Love

A Lesson in Love
When I first started out on this journey. I questioned love, I understood where and who I learned how to love from but I didn’t know how to allow the love of God to work through me and build me up. I was broken, but in the perfect position to be molded, my mind renewed and life transformed. Love has become my foundation. The sad part is that the final portion of the lesson was taught to me through the passing of my cousin, Kimmy.
We spoke almost daily throughout this past year. It was as if both of us were on our own journey trying to find our way back. Worried about the guilt and shame of our past, but believing in our heart that we had been forgiven but so worried about people. Being bound by guilt and shame, we were looking for the light, that covering of love. So many people had let me down that I had no choice but to take my eyes off man and look up, God is love. Man’s love is conditional, wavering and even misleading at times. However, sometimes when our path seems dim if the right person travels that road (the Good Samaritan) we can find our way. “And behold, a certain lawyer stood up, and tempted him, saying, Master, what shall I do to inherit eternal life? He said unto him, What is written in the law? how readest thou? And he answering said, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy strength and with all thy mind; and thy neighbor as thyself. And he said unto him, Thou hast answered right: this do, and thou shalt live.” Luke 10:25-28

In this life we need each other, but most importantly we all need the love of God to work through us. We may not understand the pitstop that someone is at along their journey but love will lead them back. God is the only one that can save, we were instructed to love and displaying the love of God brings him glory. For love covers, it heals, it protects, it instructs, it cares, it forgives, it endures; God is love.

The parable of the prodigal son, has been on replay in my mind for quite some time. This is a story of love and restoration. Sometimes we can confuse showing love with obligation. Doing something out of obligation and doing something out of love is two different things and the difference is felt. The prodigal son was living a life of sin which is a separation from God’s love and fellowship. He had to get tired of himself and his lifestyle to understand that God’s love, grace and mercy were available to him. He had to let all the pride go to understand that God hadn’t left him but was yet and still present. The father received him home with open arms. The older brother felt like he was still undeserving and was judgemental. “For this my son was dead, and is alive again; he was lost, and is found. And they began to be merry. Now his elder son was in the field: and as he came and drew nigh to the house, he heard musick and dancing. And he called one of the servants, and asked what these things meant. And he sid unto him, Thy brother is come; and thy father hath killed the fatted calf, because he hath received him safe and sound. And he was angry, and would not go in: therefore came his father out and intreated him.” Luke 15:24-28 When we love out of obligation we outwardly keep God’s commandments but inwardly have a religious and judgemental spirit.

“This is my commandment, That ye love one another, as I have love you.” John 15:12 Last year was my year of being broken down so that HE could build me back up. Now I am on a sure foundation, a foundation of love. Now I am prepared to build on it. I love you and there is nothing you can do about it.

R.I.Love Kimberly Lynn Walton

Leave a Reply

