Standing on His Word

“And whatsoever ye do, do it heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men;” Colossians 3:23

Sometimes I need a scripture to keep me motivated and encouraged, you know a word to stand on in spite of the circumstances. 2010 has been one of the most humbling, trivial and purposeful years. I went from making a decent salary a year, to less than half that salary in just a moment. I woke up and life changed drastically. With all the years of education, experience and knowledge that I possess, I found myself having to take a job that would barely be enough to pay my bills. But in spite of the job, I knew that if I was obedient to what God wanted me to do, he would bless the situation. Each day I’ve gone into work, I’ve pushed myself to work that much harder and his blessings have been evident.

“Ye have sown much, and bring in little; ye eat, but ye have not enough; ye drink, but ye are not filled with drink; ye cloth you; but there is none warm; and he that earneth wages earneth wages to put it into a bag with holes. Thus saith the Lord of hosts; Consider your ways.” Haggai 1:6-7

I was putting so much time and energy into my previous job. I enjoyed my job working with families and assisting parents with getting their children back. The problem was the money had become my master, I had forgotten my source and how he had provided me with the resource in the beginning. I was working but still living from paycheck to paycheck. The circumstances that I had to go through to bring me back before the throne of grace were drastic, but all things do work together for the good of them that believe. We are experiencing some of the roughest economic times of our day. Many are losing their jobs, homes and do not know which way to turn. I am so glad that I serve a God that will never leave me or forsake me.
“The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He maketh me to lie down in green pastures : he leadeth me beside the still waters. He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Yea though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.” Psalm 23:1-6

One comment on “Standing on His Word

  1. This is the truth. Thank you sis, we do serve a great God and all we need to remember is that He is the source of all we have. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

