Restore Me Lord

I remember listening to a song when I was younger by the Winans, “Restoration has finally come, I’ve been restored back to my place in God”. The song went on to say, “what would I know about his goodness, if I never lost my place and what would I know about mercy if I hadn’t gotten out of grace”.

Life is about choices and some of the choices we have made it was only by the grace and mercy of God that we were not consumed by them. A lot of the choices I made were not the best and the consequences were evidence of God’s faithfulness to us. Grace is unmeritted favor. Did I deserve all the chances that I got? No, but we have all been given a measure of God’s grace. The recent circumstances in my life, which have served as a very pivotal point, demonstrated God’s mercy. The punishment, trial, consequence or whatever you want to call it could have been worse but God saw fit to show mercy.

“And he said, a certain man had two sons: And the younger of them said to his father, Father, give me the portion of goods that falleth to me. And he divided unto them his living”. Luke 15:11

Before I gave my life to God, I too had requested all of my portion of goods. I wanted all the gifts and talents that God had given to me. Lord, I can write, I can do this, I can do that and I’m going to take it all and do something with it. The problem was I had forgotten about God. My confidence was built on my book sense, college education and belief that I could take on the world.
There was no place for God, I felt like I had it all under control. The world and all its cheap thrills almost cost me my life. Instead of calling on the name of the Lord and repenting, I dug a deeper and deeper hole of sins.

Because I had messed up so many times before, I felt unworthy. I had accepted where the path of destruction was leading me and all the hurt and pain of it convinced me to seek refuge in worldly pleasures. The world will tell you grace and mercy is luck and chance. It will convince you that the next job promotion or career move can restore the joy, peace or loss of love, but only the Father can restore.

Restore, according to Merriam dictionary, to put or bring back into existence or use; to bring back or put back into a former or original state.

I found myself broken and in need of a Savior. I began to seek the Lord like never before. It was different than all the times before because I had been stripped of the very things that I had put before God. I was in a perfect position for God to get the glory of the transformation he was making. Sometimes we have to get out of the way and let God do what his word has promised to those that call upon his name.

“And the son said unto him, Father, I have sinned against heaven, and in thy sight, and am no more worthy to be called thy son. But the father said to his servants, Bring forth the best robe, and put it on him; and put a ring on his hand, and shoes on his feet: And bring hither the fatted calf, and kill it; and let us eat, and be merry: For this my son was dead, and is alive again; he was lost and is found. And they began to be merry.” Luke 21:24

Our heavenly Father is waiting to restore those who are lost and in need of a Savior.

3 comments on “Restore Me Lord

  1. I am so glad the LORD lead me to your blog! It’s like you had a camera looking into my life too. 🙂 I too have sinned much. I too was stripped of everything and I thought that was it, I had entered my test, but the LORD just keep working on the inner me. All I could feel is a love like never before, it’s like you can tell is different when you seeking the LORD. WOW! Beautiful truth. I love your transparency. Please keep writing-we need your testimony to inspire us and show us GOD’s Grace! Love ya-Drea

  2. hi I was luck to find your blog in yahoo
    your subject is superb
    I obtain much in your blog really thank your very much
    btw the theme of you site is really exceptional
    where can find it

Leave a Reply

