Why Women…?

“And he said, Who told thee that thou wast naked? Hast thou eaten of the tree, whereof I commanded thee that thou shouldest not eat? 12 And the man said, The woman whom thou gavest to be with me, she gave me of the tree, and I did eat. 13 And the Lord God said unto the woman, What is this that thou hast done? And the woman said, The serpent beguiled me, and I did eat. 14 And the Lord God said unto the serpent, Because thou hast done this, thou art cursed above all cattle, and above every beast of the field; upon thy belly shalt thou go, and dust shalt thou eat all the days of thy life: 15 And I will put enmity between thee and the woman, and between thy seed and her seed; it shall bruise thy head, and thou shalt bruise his heel. 16 Unto the woman he said, I will greatly multiply thy sorrow and thy conception; in sorrow thou shalt bring forth children; and thy desire shall be to thy husband, and he shall rule over thee.” Genesis 3:11-16

Most are familiar with the fall of man in the Garden of Eden. Satan went after the weaker vessel, Eve and intentionally tricked and deceived her. Why the woman you may ask, and I ask why not? Women are able to bring forth life, we are usually the first teachers, nurturers and usually left picking up the pieces when man has pointed the finger and put the blame on us. Women in general have continued to be tempted and deceived by the devil. Women have fallen victim to the deception of society and how it chooses to portray us at any given time. We have gone from being the helpmate and backbone of our families to the “Independent woman”. The “Independent woman” has carried on the curse from generations to generations. She refuses to submit to God or even her husband, she no longer looks at her position in the home as one of honor and nurture, her lack of submitting is also taught to her children, she looks at other women as her greatest enemy, she is envious, lustful, deceptive, manipulating, selfish and full of greed.

I was that “Independent woman”. I thought I knew it all, could control everything and run the show. I learned the hard way that the independence that I was seeking did not allow room in my life for God. It didn’t even allow room in my life for God to send me the man that he had for me. The minute I dropped my guard because my so-called “Independent” plan didn’t work, a counterfeit surfaced. My false sense of independence brought out the realness of my insecurities. I really didn’t believe in my self as much as I thought. I was terrified of failing, which kept me limited in my pursuit of success. Since my identity had been so superficial, I easily began to lose my identity. Just like Eve, we as women bite off the tree and realize too late that it only leads to death. Then before we realize what has taken place, we have also unintentionally force fed the same fruit to our children. Before Eve bit from the fruit, both her and Adam were naked, they had both been given the same access and were to work side by side one another each having their role but very dependent on the other to fulfill it, the way that God had intended.

Women, mothers, sisters and daughters it is time to heal. We need to analyze the relationship that we are developing, both male and female. Our relationships should be pushing us to deeper and dependent relationships with God. Your girls should be able to tell you when you are headed down a path of destruction and not smile in your face as if things are okay. “And Ruth said, Intreat me not to leave thee, or to return from following after thee: for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God:” Ruth 1:16 Naomi had demonstrated a life of faith in God and had been an example to Ruth. She had proven to be a worthy leader and confidant. Let’s build some God worthy relationships.

Leave a Reply

