The Importance of a Vision

“Where there is no vision, the people perish: but he that keepeth the law, happy is he.” Proverbs 29:18

When I first started my blog, it was out of a desire to reconnect with writing and get my thoughts down, writing has always been healing. It now provides me with a chronicle of my journey over the past few months. The journey has not been an easy one, by no means, but a true testament of faith. 4th of July weekend, my brakes completely went out on my car while I was driving home. Fortunately and by the grace of God, I had dropped off the other passengers, made it close to my home and I had enough control to slam on my emergency brake. My entire braking system had failed. Not having access to another vehicle or the finances to get my car repaired, I had to depend on my sister and only family member in Nevada, and a friend. These past few months felt like an eternity, I felt like Jonah in the belly of a big fish. See I had been disobedient.

I knew I had more that I could and should be doing and I knew the vision that God had already shown me. I couldn’t ignore it this time; God had gotten my undivided attention. My prayer life and daily devotion began to change. I was seeking God even more, placing my life in his hands and surrendering to his will. My will had failed me so many times. My level of faith began to increase and that vision became a written outline. See God was ordering my steps. When things looked dark and I felt like giving up, I had that vision to keep me focused. “And the Lord answered me, and said, write the vision, and make it plain upon tables, that he may run that readeth it. For the vision is yet for an appointed time, but at the end it shall speak, and not lie: though it tarry, wait for it: because it will surely come, it will not tarry.” Habakkuk 2:2-3

Habakkuk sought the Lord for an answer to why there was so much evil in the world, as many of us do about the purpose and plan that God has for our lives. When our answer comes, we need to write the vision. For me, writing causes me to do a few things. It causes me to research, obtain the facts, organize and plan. It also forces me to act on what has been written. The written vision will show you the needed team players, those that need to be replaced, dismissed or otherwise excused. My focus shifted from what I couldn’t do, to just what needed to be done. I began to chip away at the to do list until the vision was in view. You see when my brakes went out not only was my transportation limited but also my access to a computer. Thank God for modern technology, my blackberry became everything. It became my blog, my computer and my way of networking. God showed me that I had more than enough.

The easy part of the vision was getting it down on paper; it didn’t cost a thing, other than my time which I had plenty. I noticed that as I continued on in faith and being obedient, the obstacles that I thought would be before me were already being removed. God was honoring the faith and trust that I had put in him and all to his glory. When finances were required, he provided. I am thankful today, that after 2 and a half months, I have my car, brakes are brand new and I did not have to pay for any of the services (over $1500 in work). God is good! I’m continuing on as he leads. Write the vision and make it plain.

One comment on “The Importance of a Vision

Leave a Reply

