Lord I Surrender

For the past  few days I’ve been in a weird space.  I went from God speaking a word into my spirit constantly throughout the day to what seemed to be absolute silence.  I called my mother but she could not even explain it to me in a way that settled my spirit.  I continued in prayer and reading my Word and would find myself in tears; not tears of sorrow but of  joy.  I still wasn’t getting a word in my spirit to share but I realized that God was taking me through a process.  See when you totally surrender your life to God, you don’t need a word or a sign to know that he is there.  The Bible says that the steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord; and he delighteth in his way. Psalm 37:23.

Then came my test.  I’ve been without my car for over a month.  I went in to complete the paperwork so that it could be paid and a minor problem became a huge setback but through it all I kept my peace.  The old me (flesh) would have lost it and become angry, but  I maintained my peace.  Patience is truly a virtue but surrendering to God’s will allows for the storm to continue but it will not cause you to sink.  I passed my test, but more importantly I have surrrendered to God’s will and purpose for my life.  I can trust that he won’t put more on me than I can bear.

The scripture that  came to mind is “Come unto me all ye that labour and are heany laden, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart and ye shall find rest unto your souls.  For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light”. Matthew 11:28-30

When a master attempts to put the yoke on the cattle, the cattle has to surrender to the will of his master in order for the yoke to be put on, otherwise there becomes a battle of the wills.  This takes trust, obedience and cooperation.  However, once the cattle has surrendered, it realizes that it is all was for its benefit and good.  We have to learn how to surrender and take that yoke upon us.  It will lead us to greener pastures. 

The Lord place this on my heart.  I hope it ministers to someone as much it has ministered to me.

Leave a Reply

